By Rachel M. Anderson, Freelance Writer

(Minnetonka, MN) - You could say Marilyn Jax is on cloud nine right now. The mystery novelist from Minnetonka, Minn., just learned her second novel, Road to Omalos, has won another book award. The Independent Book Publishers Association handed out the prestigious Benjamin Franklin Awards during a gala event in New York City on Monday, May 23, 2011. Road to Omalos was named "Winner" in the Mystery/Suspense category.

"I am so thrilled to have won this award," said Jax. "The Benjamin Franklin Award is regarded as one of the highest national honors in independent publishing." 

Road to Omalos
is a mystery set in Miami and on the Greek island of Crete. The novel follows the escapades of two Miami investigators who travel overseas to bring a sinister villain to justice.

Earlier this month, the book was named "Winner" in the Fiction - Thriller/Adventure category of the 2011 International Book Awards in Los Angeles. Road to Omalos has also been recognized with two other national book awards.

Jax's first book, The Find, set in Miami, Grand Cayman, and London, won six book awards, including being named "Finalist" in the 2008 National Indie Excellence Awards for Best New Fiction and Best Mystery/Suspense/Thriller.

Jax recently completed the first draft of her third mystery. Sapphire Trails, set in Miami and Montana, features the same two main characters, investigators Claire Caswell and Gaston "Guy" Lombard. It is expected to be published later this year. 

Road to Omalos
was published by Beaver's Pond Press. It retails for $26 and can be purchased through the author's website: , at, and from Barnes & Noble, Borders and other fine booksellers. 

About the Benjamin Franklin Awards 

The IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards, which includes 56 categories recognizing excellence in both editorial and design, is regarded as one of the highest national honors in small and independent publishing. Winners were announced by the Independent Book Publishers Association on May 23, 2011, just prior to BookExpo America.

The award is administered by the Independent Book Publishers Association with the help of more than 160 book publishing professionals coming from the library, bookstore, reviewer, designer, publicity and editorial industry segments. 

About the Author 

Marilyn Jax
spent close to 20 years as a senior government enforcement investigator for the State of Minnesota. During that time she investigated multitudes of cases, including acting as a lead investigator on one of the largest real estate fraud cases in Minnesota history. She is also a retired Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE).

Jax enjoys sharing her experience with people interested in investigative work and hopes to inspire young people to pursue a career in fraud investigation. She is the highly acclaimed author of six-time national award winning novel,The Find. Her second book, Road to Omalos, was published in June 2010. Marilyn Jax lives in Minnesota and the Caribbean and spends time in Montana and Miami. 

To arrange an interview with the author, or to request review copies of her books , contact Rachel M. Anderson, Publicist at 952-240-2513 or via e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.